The importance of sub-editing!

CHAdzhLUYAAc-ASYes, it’s real!  Has to be my favourite headline ever.  And yet, when I saw it, my first thoughts were “How did this get through?  Who was subbing this piece?  Have they still got a job?”.

The point I’m making is that in writing attention to detail is everything.  Everyone makes mistakes, but the job of the sub-editor is to make the chance of this kind of error as minimal as possible.

As a freelance writer, my work will usually be subbed by those to whom I am submitting the piece.  But who subs my blog posts?  Me.  I will go through it several times for sense, grammar and spelling before it is posted.  I can’t guarantee I’ll get it right every time, but I’ll do my best.

There’s no substitute for attention to detail.  At the risk of over-plugging my skills, I’d say it was something I’m quite good at.  If you don’t trust yourself to do it, always get a second pair of eyes to give it the once over.

In the meantime, have a good chuckle at this headline, and thank your lucky stars it wasn’t down to you…..

Leave a Reply

