Back to Netball – After 30 Years (part 2)

So, there I was on tenterhooks waiting for the new day and date for the start of the netball sessions, hoping that some arrangement would have been agreed.

I received an email from Emma telling me that the sessions would now be on Fridays at 6.30 and the first one would be Friday 5th February. Hurrah! No, hang on a minute, boo! Typically we had booked a cheeky night away in London on – you guessed it – Friday 5th February. I was gutted. I was going to miss the first proper session.

It seemed as if every time I tried I was thwarted! But I was determined to go the following week.

And I did – and loved it!

There were about seven of us – only one team’s worth, unfortunately, but hoping it will grow. I was much gratified to find that those who had come the previous week had returned – always a good sign! There were also another couple of newbies so I wasn’t the only one.

We started with a light jog round the sports hall and some stretching and then straight into drills. Wow. It was a mixture of remembering things and getting back into the groove and realising how completely and utterly rubbish I was.

I think we all loved the drill that had us in two lines passing the ball to each other and running round – it’s hard to explain in words – here’s a ridiculous attempt at describing it in a diagram:

drill1

Much hilarity ensued, especially when we graduated from making our way down the court to round the corner and making our way back the other way. Many instances of people with the ball with no-one to throw to and people waiting for a ball that never came! Still, I think we’d made progress by the end and you could see the look of determination to get it right on every face.

Then we came to my personal low point. At this juncture I probably ought to confess something – I am terribly competitive. Be it Trivial Pursuit, Top Trumps, badminton with my husband, I hate to lose. That’s probably why I’ve always been more interested in defending than attacking. Never wanted the goal shooter glory – just stop the opponent scoring at all costs……

So Val set us up in the following pattern:

drill3

The idea was that the defender in the middle had to choose which way to go, which person to mark. The person at the top would stand with their back to play, turn round and shout “now”. The two attackers would run to a spot, the person with the ball would pass it, obviously to the unmarked person. Now I got that. I really did. Then it came to my turn to be the defender and I lost it. I confess, the instructions went out the window.

So I was more like this:

drill2

Hmm. Not quite what Val intended – as she told me in no uncertain terms. What did she expect me to do?   When I went with the person who was not getting the ball I was duty bound to switch to the other person to prevent them getting it, wasn’t I? No? Oh. Eventually I got it, but it felt alien, silly and downright wrong…..

Anyway, still smarting from my ignominious telling off we went on to play a tentative half-court game with no positions just pairs of markers. We all had a go at shooting and what was brilliant was that there was already a sense of camaraderie – it took some of us quite a while to score but there was universal cheering and clapping when each goal went in.

We ended with another gentle jog for warm-down with lots of stretching.

I cannot pretend I was not absolutely cream-crackered by the end of it, but loved every minute.

I’ve had a couple of weeks to recover now (half-term in Leicestershire last week) but I’ll be back in action on Friday.

And I’ll be back with more tales of the next session, and hopefully some photos next week.

One dot on the card!!

just one dot

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

